"How the South Could Have Won the Civil War" is a good book? Is the defensive approach the best?

There is hardly anything that fascinates me more about the US history than the civil war, but I'm only beginning to learn about it, and so during my search I found this book: "How the South Could Have Won the Civil War: The Fatal Errors That Led to Confederate Defeat" by Bevin Alexander, on amazon for sale.

The description reads:

"Destroying conventional historical wisdom, acclaimed military historian Bevin Alexander reveals how the South most definitely could have defeated the North-and how close a Confederate victory came to happening. Alexander shows:

•How the Confederacy had its greatest chance to win the war just three months into the fighting-but blew it
• How the Confederacy’s three most important leaders- President Jefferson Davis and Generals Robert E. Lee and Thomas "Stonewall" Jackson– clashed over how to fight the war
• How the Confederate army devised–but never fully exploited–a way to negate the Union’s huge advantages in manpower and weaponry
• How Abraham Lincoln and other Northern leaders understood the Union’s vulnerability better than the Confederacy’s leaders did"

What do you think? It is worth a read? I'm asking that because I'm so low on funds now and I don't want to buy something that would move me on the wrong direction, and I showed this to a friend of mine from Georgia and he said that the book claims that the south should have kept the defensive and try to bleed the north, but according to this friend of mine the south did that and had no effect and then they drove north. On another hand the book seems to claim that the south incursions in the north only strenghned the north will to fight and thus increased their will to crush the south, something that seems reasonable to me. What do you think?

You cannot win a war on defense.
The Confederacy did not have the manpower to defend the entire South.