King's Dominion: a Fractured North American Timeline

Chapter 1: Baltimore's Ambition
Hello hello! This is my first attempt at writing a timeline for this site, and it's one I'm quite excited for. This timeline explores a world where the 13 Colonies (or what few of them were around by 1700) never got the chance to form a common American identity and instead separated into three distinct, squabbling factions. What would these countries look like? What would their dynamics be with each other, the great powers of Europe, and the increasingly displaced Native Americans? And how radically different would a North America (and later, a world) without a United States look?

Well, before we can get to those questions, we have a big one to tackle first: how did British North America fracture? It'll take some time to answer this question, so without further ado, let's begin!

Chapter 1: Baltimore’s Ambition

The 1620s were rough for the Colony of Virginia. Though the colonists had learned to feed themselves and its tobacco industry was beginning to take shape, those were about the only things going well. They managed to enrage the Powhatan people so much that they stumbled into a second war less than a decade after the first had concluded and, much to the befuddlement of London, got slaughtered in the first couple of years. And that’s not even touching the financial and political mess the Virginia Company of London was in. By the middle of the decade, King James I was so fed up with the Company’s mismanagement that he dissolved the charter and declared Virginia a crown colony.