The Rainbow. A World War One on Canada's West Coast Timeline

Is this online somewhere? (Apologies if I've missed it somewhere in the previous pages) I used to do this for a living (Ordnance), and it has aroused my formerly professional interest. I realize it seems an area of arcane interest but man, this is, words fail me. I'm hoping to get some nugget of terminology in what's written that gives me an inkling of how and what. TIA!

From Peter N. Moogk, Vancouver Defended, A History of the Men and Guns of the Lower Mainland Defences 1859-1949, Antonson Publishing Ltd. Surrey BC 1978 p. 51

The author footnotes his source for quotes as:

CG Beeston, The 15th Field Brigade, Canadian Artillery: A History and Commentary – 1919-1933, Canadian Defense Quarterly (CDQ) Vol. XV, No. 4 July 1938 p.444

A second battery was established by the army on the northwest side of Point Grey in early September 1914 (I have other sources that give an earlier date.) The militia gunners involved came from the Coberg Heavy Battery of Ontario. As “Admiral Lucas” told it, their 60 pound field guns “were rushed by rail from Ontario and dragged into position in West Point Grey… The land battery arrived on a sweltering day in September (other sources say earlier) a militia major in command. Drawn by trucks, the gun carriages rumbled through downtown streets and out to Point Grey, where positions had been prepared, about half a mile east of the present ‘washout gulley.’” When the guns reached their destination the soldiers discovered what they believed was an act of sabotage. “As the battery was being rolled into position, it was found that one of the hard steel breech blocks had been cracked clean across. ‘That was no accident,’ was the major’s comment, ‘only a man who knew how to destroy steel could have done that.’ A local welder and electrician undertook to repair the block, making an all night job of it, and both guns were ready for action the next day.