The State of Franklin: A Local Perspective

Howdy folks, I'm a longtime resident of East TN, and I'm creating this thread about the State of Franklin in order to pose a few questions and hopefully gain some insight from the larger AH community,

If you're familiar with Appalachia, Early America, or the Civil War, you may have heard tell of this quasi-state. If you haven't, that's quite alright. The rundown is pretty much just "precursor to Tennessee, Revolutionary-era mountain men rail against North Carolina's rule." I'm from close to the area, albeit slightly west of Franklin's borders, but that hasn't blunted my fascination for the state and its history. Despite my decent familiarity with Franklin, there are a few questions that I wish to pose to the larger AH community:

1. What would a plausible Franklin state flag look like?
2. What would be more plausible circumstances for Franklin's statehood, 1784 or 1865?

In regards to my first question, here's what Wikipedia has to say:
"John Sevier also proposed to commission a Franklin state flag, but it was never designed."

After putting more thought into the questions, I realize the second one may need to be answered before the first. Generally, state flags at least attempt to convey some message central to that state. For example, Tennessee's OTL flag has 3 stars representing the Three Grand Divisions. As far as the Franklin flag question goes, I believe the state's "central message" would be quite malleable depending on the circumstances of statehood.

If Franklin gained statehood in the 1780s, the central message would probably be more "neutral" - not to say that the famed independent streak did not exist in her mountain-dwelling settlers, but that it would be a wholly different beast if, say, Franklin instead came about in the aftermath of the Civil War.

So, with that said, I'd like to hear what you all think about the second question I posed: