The Stars Above: An Alternate Space Race

Chapter 1
A/N: This is my first attempt at a serious timeline. All comments, suggestions, and critiques are welcome.

Chapter 1:

It was the spring of 1955, and planning for the upcoming International Geophysical Year was in full swing. President Eisenhower had just ordered the formation of a committee to decide on which proposal to fund for the IGY satellite project, as part of the United States' contribution to the international effort. Headed by Homer J. Stewart of JPL, the committee also held two representatives each from the Army, Navy, and Air Force, as well as two men selected by Assistant Secretary of Defense Donald Quarles: Joseph Kaplan, head of the American IGY committee, and William Pickering, the director of JPL. [1]

The administration's requirements were simple: The proposal that the committee selected had to be a civilian project, in order to establish the overflight rights that would be needed for the operation of spy satellites over Soviet territory, and should not interfere with any ongoing missile development project. In the end, three proposals were presented to the committee, one each from the Army, Navy, and Air Force.

Of the three, the Army's Project Orbiter was the cheapest and most technically developed. Using a Redstone rocket with successive clusters of Baby Sergeant solid rockets as an upper stage and a payload provided by JPL, Project Orbiter's Jupiter-C vehicle used entirely existing technology and facilities. However, its close association with the Army and von Braun made it a politically difficult sell.

The Air Force's World Series proposed stacking an Aerobee sounding rocket on top of an Atlas A missile. Unfortunately, the proposal was effectively dead on arrival. The Air Force brass had no interest in a satellite project, or in any project that would delay the development of the national security essential Atlas ICBM.