Opinions on an Irish TL.

Right. This is my first attempt at a thread so please, bear with me.
I'm Irish and have a slight obsession with Brian Boru, Emperor of the Irish. So I decided to make a TL about him and his descendants. I was originally working on the idea with another guy on the alt history wiki, but he's stopped working on it so I've come here to try my own one.
This isn't the actual TL, I want to get ideas that I can work into a new plot.

Ideas so far
United Irish kingdom acts as counterweight to England. Several wars, both try to get Scotland etc.
Celtic Church annoys Pope a lot. Reformation in Ireland?
I like the idea of the Vikings uniting Scandanavia, a France to irelands England.

So ideas please.

Leaving aside the difficulties of establishing a stable and united kingdom in a sparsely-populated, isolated society without much infrastructure under pressure from much larger and more powerful neighbours (which are probably not insurmountable), such a kingdom wouldn't be a "counterweight" to England bar English demographic crisis. It's just too small, quite frankly. Ireland is a small, out of the way place which can't support that many people. England has more land, more people, a more favourable climate, more commodities, and a better position. It's just stronger.

I really doubt a united Irish kingdom would even be in a position to conquer Scotland.

What you want to try is a Celtic Kingdom with a Celtic Church, with Scandinavia and France helping out.

Scotland, Ireland, Wales, France and Scandinavia should be able to take down England.

Yes, even though in my TL Ireland actually has a sizable amount of land, it's only got about 1,500,000 on the actual island itself. If you want to gain stuff for Ireland you need to make them a commercial and maritime power.

Also wasn't the Celtic Church essentially dead by the 1000s?