Able Archer and one pelmeny too many

1. Bad dreams

ferdi254

Banned
Hi Folks,

this is my first try on an ATL. Trying to make it as realistic as possible with a few caveats: I will invent characters below the government level meaning I will not look up names on advisors, generals... and the USSR leadership will suddenly get some influx of flexibility and ability to accept bad information. Reason see title and first chapter. And English is not my mother language, I have a spell checker on but please bear with me.

Moscow, Kremlin, 12th of November 1983, 2 am local time

The second most powerful man of the world, Yuri Andropov had trouble falling asleep. The scare of the last four days with the USA seemingly preparing a first strike on the USSR had taken its toll. Plus the opulent dinner he had that evening. The pelmenies were to die for and now his stomach was telling him that dying might have actually been a good idea. After hours of rolling around in the bed he finally fallen asleep, only to be haunted by the worst nightmares in his whole life.

He saw rockets getting started, heard the alarm sirens go up and then the flashes, cities in Russia incinerated, people trying to flee, all the horrors of a nuclear strike. And then he saw Ronald Reagan standing victorious over a crowd cheering “USA, USA, USA…”[1]

He woke up screaming and lay panting for a while. After calming down a bit and thinking about the next steps he asked his aide de camp to call in the politburo at 9 in the morning. He suddenly felt very relaxed and calm and just knew what to do. The old promise “Never again” shall not be broken on his watch. Determined he went off to the meeting.

[1] Yes, the soviet leadership was afraid of a first strike of the USA

Last edited:
Yuri. A pelmeny is a Russian "ravioli", stuffed with a number of different possibilities I love the ones meat stuff, and of course eaten with smetana (sour cream).

ferdi254

Banned