Chapter 1 - Prologue
Prologue

Hello and welcome! This is my first proper timeline covering an actual narrative, and it is my first timeline in general in 3 or 4 years. I'm highly confident that I've matured and improved over those years to make a riveting, and diverse story. The narrative of this timeline comes from the creation of an early competitor to the BBC decades before ITV came to be. So sit back, and I hope you enjoy my first foray into an actual narrative timeline.

Breaking News – Chapter 1
A News Timeline by Aces California

YP01-Edward%2BLloyd.jpg

Edward Lloyd – Founder of the Daily Chronicle

Before the 1870s, Edward Lloyd; the third son of an impoverish family, always had ambitions of publishing, including his self-hated fictional short stories published between the 1830s and the 1850s.

After many attempts at self-publishing; penny dreadfuls, clear to day plagiarism, and tiny publications with equally tiny circulation, in 1876, Edward bought out the local Clerkenwell News and London Daily Chronicle newspaper for a total of over £180,000. Remodelled to become a national newspaper and renamed to the Daily Chronicle, it entered London's circulation the following year without warning. Valued initially for it's content from the beginning, Lloyd's steadfast belief in objective reporting of facts, unadorned by comment or speculation, led to the paper growing in popularity, and leading the way in news print; eventually hiring special correspondents for specific stories and reporting on news from the wide colonies of the British Empire.