Hi it's my first time posting but I've been a lurker on here for a while. I'm working on a Richard III timeline where he marries Joanna of Portugal, and she dies in childbirth delivering a surviving daughter in 1486. In my timeline, Richard remarries to an English nobleman and has a son that is betrothed to Catherine of Aragon. As OTL, Joanna's brother John II dies in 1495 without an heir leaving King Rich and Joanna's child as heir to the Aviz throne. Definitely the Portuguese would not be willing to allow a foreign monarch rule their country, especially a female, therefore placing Manuel the Duke of Beja as king AOTL. However, it is likely that Richard would probably unsuccessfully, push his daughter's claim to the throne, leading to a War of Succession.

1. Who would have supported Richard? Spain or Burgundy? If Richard's sister Margaret recognizes Perkin Warbeck as Richard of Shrewsbury as she did OTL then that may strain relationships with Burgundy or if Richard's son is betrothed to Spain, would they support princess York or remain neutral or decide to drop the betrothal?

2. What would have been the likely outcome? It's likely Rich would've been unsuccessful in putting princess York on the throne but may she have been given a decent settlement ie perhaps a marriage to Manuel or his nephew Jaime or something better?

3. How would relationships with Portugal progress into the 1500's and early 1600's?

4. How different would it have been if Rich and Joanna had a son?

Dickon in Spain, but in the other corner of the Peninsula... funny.

Let's hope that if Richard's daughter marries Juan of Aragon the prince lives longer this time.

1. Who would have supported Richard? Spain or Burgundy? If Richard's sister Margaret recognizes Perkin Warbeck as Richard of Shrewsbury as she did OTL then that may strain relationships with Burgundy or if Richard's son is betrothed to Spain, would they support princess York or remain neutral or decide to drop the betrothal?