Why couldn't India conquer Persia?

I've seen many timelines where Persia conquered India. Why can't India conquer Persia? Can it?

I'm no expert but I think either one conquering the other is rather unlikely. Both are large regions separated by hard country. Both have completely different religions and cultures, making assimilation difficult.

In the case of India specifically conquering Persia, I would say that for most of history what we would call "India" was more a region of countries rather than anything united. Why bother conquering a far away land when you have neighbors right next to you?

I'm no expert but I think either one conquering the other is rather unlikely. Both are large regions separated by hard country. Both have completely different religions and cultures, making assimilation difficult.

In the case of India specifically conquering Persia, I would say that for most of history what we would call "India" was more a region of countries rather than anything united. Why bother conquering a far away land when you have neighbors right next to you?

In the case of India conquering Persia - was that the only factor blocking this?

Note: When I say 'Persia' conquers India, I mean countries that occupy Persia that slip through the Hindu Kush.

Like the Mughals. The Delhi Sultanate. The White Huns.

India was most of its history divided to multiple warring kingdoms. It was pretty rare that there would has been totally unified India. And even in this case India hadn't any reason to conquer Persia and probably it would have failed anyway.

The mountains to the north of the Indus river allow for people on the "Persian" side to cross them, but going the other way for an invading army is SUPER HARD. even once you get past them you have the entire rest of the Persian plateau to get through, also extremity difficult.

For a Persian army, once you get past those mountains north of the Indus then the rest of India is mostly a flat plain.

Go figure.