What if 9/11 happened during the Reagan administration?

So, inspired by a recent thread outlining what if the plane hit its fourth target....

What would happen if 9/11 happened in 1981 during the Reagan administration? I will note I am a layman on this topic, so if there is anything wrong please correct me.

How would the Reagan administration respond to such an issue? Would they blame the Soviets for such an event?

Would this push Reagan down in popularity that he wouldn't get a second term? How crazy would the US economy spiral out of control? Might such an event be a net positive for the Soviet Union or no?

Would xenophobia of middle easterns explode even worse than what OTL 9/11 was?

In case you're wondering, I don't care what Middle Eastern group that does this matter. I know Al-Qaeda has been around for a year by this point, but probably are not strong enough or have the funds to launch it. Might Black September be able to do it or no?

Would it possible to launch an attack like this in 1981?

If 9/11 happened here, it might bring upon the end of the world. The Americans blame soviets, Soviet blame Afghanistan, Afghanistan War becomes bigger mess and terrorsim becomes even worse. Reagan might do a bush and win re election with rally round the flag and what not. The economy may not recover as quick as it did due to a likely war. If people think the ‘80’s were scary times in OTL with the threat of nuclear warfare, this ‘80’s would be a lot worse. The OTL ‘80’s would like tame by comparison.

nbcman

Donor