Re-use of the space shuttles

All, Maybe this is not the best forum. Please tel me then.

If we should get into real space travel, i believe that a low-orbit space station, like the ISS, is a great idea.

Now to get anywhere else, some sort of space vehicle is required.

It should be able to carry significant cargo, etc.

Can the space shutles not be re-used for that, as a ferry to another space station, say, around Mars?

I am not good at this part, so please help me out.

I am under the impression that the space shutttle are canned as too old for getting into space and especially re-entry. well, we could keep them in space instead.

Am I off on a tangent here?

Ivan

No.

THe shuttles are not designed for anything like that.:(

And the shuttles weren't that old.

THe newer ones had plenty of life in them.

No.

THe shuttles are not designed for anything like that.:(

And the shuttles weren't that old.

THe newer ones had plenty of life in them.

The space shuttles were like the first automobiles; pioneering efforts, but not suitable for mass production. They were never designed for anything beyond LEO; for anything else you need an entirely new vehicle.

A permanent space station would be essential if human space travel is to become a reality; it's a halfway point between Earth's surface and other planets. It doesn't have to be in LEO; anywhere in the Earth-Moon system will do. (L4 or L5 are probably the best long-term candidates.)

Once you have that you can ship your interplanetary ship up bit by bit, assemble it in orbit, ship up the crew, supplies, and fuel, and off you go. When it returns you can service it, rotate the crew, refuel and resupply it, and off you go again. A few trips with it and you have your outpost/colony on Mars or wherever.

None of this is cheap or easy, of course; if it were it would already be done. But it's within our grasp if we are willing to devote the time, effort, and money to it.