John Adams Alexander Hamilton dispute

It is common knowledge among students of early American History that Thomas Jefferson and Alexander Hamilton were arch enemies politically. They despised each others ideas and became the centers of their respective parties. However less known is the hatred between John Adams and Alexander Hamilton.

Though I am aware of this hatred, I am not so knowledgeable about WHAT they hated eachother for? What were their political or philosophical disputes? I know that Hamilton was pro-war and expansion and Adams was against war, but what else?

It would be safe to say that Adams was more moderate than Hamilton, so that their disagreements over policy were limited and more about degree than kind. Large parts of it were simply culture and upbringing, though. Adams was a well-off man from an old established family in Massachusetts with a Harvard education; Hamilton was a bastard orphan from St. Nevis who was brilliant but self-taught. Hamilton had participated in the war as Washington's adjutant; Adams had been a member of the Continental Congress who got sent on diplomatic missions to France. Adams saw in Hamilton an opportunistic upstart and sycophant of Washington; Hamilton saw in Adams the combination of self-important arrogance and cowardice.

I get the impression that both Adams and Hamilton were men who tended to grate on a lot of people just personally; it's a rarer thing to find evidence either man had good friends than enemies!:p

It's rather gratifying then to realize that toward the end of their lives Adams and Jefferson took up a mutually cordial correspondence; despite their differences in principles they did respect one another, at least in the context of the perspective the intervening decades of success of the republic, incorporating principles both had championed sometimes in opposition to each other, sometimes together.