EU or HOI?

Just a q for the board. It's my first time into this series and I was wondering if I should get Hearts of Iron first or Europa Universalis?

well i like EU a hell of alot more, because it spans a longer period of time, you can colonise, create a byzantine east india company plus some other cool stuff, where as HOI is just about ww2 and mainly about war.

by the way if you do get EU3 get the two expansions and magna mundi mod, it make the game much much better.

I'd recommend HOI2 as the first game you play, not due to it being particularly better, but its learning curve is marginally less colossal.

Get EU. You'll want to get the latest version of HoI, and HoI3 just came out. But you'll want to wait for the price to come down, maybe for an expansion to come out, certainly a little while for the bugs to be worked out.

Hoi3 is a bit... unpolished. One could say the same thing of all Paradox games when they first come out. However, through patches and expansions, Paradox always makes a good end product. I'd say get EU3. It's been out a few years already, so most of the major kinks are worked out, and it has two expansions that vastly improve the game with a third on the way.

HoI has a non-colossal learning curve? huh?

I'm a longtime Victoria player, and I still can't figure out how to play HoI. Odd.

I'd get HOI3 first. EU3 is a bit more complicated and although it gives you longer to play, it can take very long to get much done, especially if you play a non-European nation. Although both games have alot of minor nations, EU3 makes them alot less viable, although I will say that I do love the screen you get when you leave the game that lists the legacy of your leaders.

Thanks for the input. I probably won't be getting anything until after my birthday, though. Unless I get 1 of them for my birthday