AHC & WI: No Coup of 18 Fructidor

I tried using the search feature for this, but the (very few) threads that I could find even vaguely on this topic either seemed to focus on 'No Napoleon' scenarios, or timelines that involved preventing the Consulate (and usually therefore 'No Napoleon').

My question is essentially what's on the tin; what POD(s) would be required to avoid the Coup of 18 Fructidor, and what would be the immediate and long-term butterflies from such?

I'll point out that I am no expert on the French Revolutionary period, or the Napoleonic era, and I'm coming to this question from a position of how to avoid the Quasi-War, building on my earlier thread on the subject.

The 18 Fructidor coup was an action against Royalists. At the time, there was a Monarchist majority in the two ruling Assemblies of France: the Conseil des Cinq Cents (Five Hundred's Coucil) and the Conseil des Anciens (Elder Council). If the coup isn't carried away, the Royalist will probably try to reestablish the Monarchy. Given the tendency was to monarchism in France, it would probably result in a success, althoug some Republicans might try to keep the Republic in place. However, Louis XVIII (since his brother Louis XVI and nephew Louis XVII are dead) has good chances on getting the throne if there is no 18 Fructidor coup in my opinion.

The 18 Fructidor coup not happening might be easy to achieve: just have Barras choose to side with the Monarchist directors instead of the Republican ones. Barras apparently hesitated a long time before choosing the Republican option OTL.