Realignment: Trump's New Order

Hi all,

This is my first timeline, so bear with me! I got the inspiration from recent political events, documentaries and a few what-ifs I found just too tempting to resist.

So without further ado, I bring you:

REALIGNMENT
Trump's New Order

upload_2018-9-13_19-14-13.png

'It looks set to be an eventful year as the 1988 electoral race begins. Against a backdrop of thaw in Moscow and stability at home, both Democrats and Republicans will have an open field to play for the US presidency. Ronald Reagan, nearing the end of his second term, appears confident about the result of his policies: lower tax and inflation, business growth and a string of foreign policy wins, including a firm hand with the Soviet Union. However, controversial elements of his legacy are sure to be challenged in the months ahead.

Mr Reagan’s deputy, George Bush, is poised to enter the Republican primaries in the coming week. Other than his main rival, Bob Dole, few big hitters have yet expressed an interest in the Republican contest. On the Democratic side, Gary Hart, Dick Gephardt and Jesse Jackson are likely to declare.

In the town hall and the street, many Americans are unhappy with the established political choices on offer. Rumors have swirled in recent days of Donald Trump, canny real-estate tycoon, hoping to fill this space. Mr Trump is busy with projects in New York, but has declined to silence the whispers of a bold, wildcard push for the White House.

Only one thing is for certain this year: all bets are off in the build-up to this historic presidential election
.'

- New York Times, 11 January 1988​

His campaign began like no other.

Devoted wife Ivana by his side, the candidate stepped up to the lectern. A moment was spent to collect the words that would rewrite history.