WI: No Arab Conquest of North Africa

So, for whatever reason, the Arab invasions stop around Cyrenaica, either because they feel happy with their gains, or are struck by a sudden plague, or whatever. Do the Byzantines keep north Africa by default, or does it become independant, or does it just just get swept up by arab pirates from Egypt later? What effect does this have on Spain, Italy, and Sicily?

I am no expert by any means but I wonder if this means Spain will remain independent nations rather then dynastically unifying

I imagine it continues to have problems with an ambitious general or Exarch using Byzantine North Africa as a springboard to conquer the rest of the Empire, combined with the occasional raid or two against the Byzantines by the local Berber tribes. And there would probably still be some Arab tribal confederacies from Egypt and the Arabian peninsula migrating westward, though not to the extent as it happened in OTL.

JJohnson

Banned
If they stopped there, it's very possible that Gothic and Vandalic languages might last a bit longer in the west, and we can see some further written traces, perhaps a lasting language for a few more centuries, with Spanish being more influenced by Gothic than Arabic. At some point, I would suspect that the Arianism of the African Germanic tribes would be stamped out.

One question would be, how would Spain develop without the unifying force that was the expulsion of the Arabs, lasting till the 15th century? What about Portugal? The Goths could be seen as a parallel to the Normans in England, shifting the Spanish language with a large vocabulary of Germanic terms, maybe even replacing core lexical items like pronouns and affecting inflections. That would be interesting to see how that would develop.