Camelot Endures: An Alternative Look at the 1960s and Beyond

Introduction
Introduction

Hey everyone! I’m a big fan of this site and have been a long-time observer.

I’ve wanted to do a timeline for quite some time. I’ve finally decided to take a crack at it and hope for the best!

Before I begin, a little about me. I am a third-year university student and long-time philomath of history. I have a keen interest in the Progressive Era, second only to my fascination with the Cold War and its impacts on U.S. society. As a lover of alternative history, it has been a favorite pastime of mine to pinpoint how different our world would be if one event changed.

One of my favorite thought experiments is how different the world may have been if John F. Kennedy had not had his life taken so tragically early. To some, he is labeled as one of the greatest presidents the world has seen. To those, like myself, born after 2000, he is seen more as a cultural figure than a politician.

Picture of John F. Kennedy

I have seen many timelines, such as Blue Skies in Camelot (of which I am a great fan), which are often love letters to the 35th president of the United States. I’ve also seen others that lead to destruction and chaos. I have always wanted to see a more evenhanded approach.

Our POD for this scenario will be Robert McNamara turning down the position of Secretary of Defense, leading to a more aggressive approach in courting Robert A. Lovett.

Before we embark on this journey, I would like to say a few things:
  1. This site’s success would not be possible without the support of its readers. I would love feedback as long as the discourse remains civil and polite! Please feel free to PM me with ideas so we can discuss the possibility of integrating it! This especially goes for the areas of global affairs, pop culture, and sports.