WI/PC: A Christian Japan

As it says on the title. I am far from an expert on either element of the topic (History of Christianity and History of Japan) but the sheer contrast between the significant headway made by the Jesuits in Japan compared to the overall poor results (to the best of my knowledge aniway) in the rest of East Asia is enough to make me quite curious regarding such a scenario.

Would it be possible for Japanese Christianity to both take political and eventually represent a majority of the population? How would such an ATL develop politically, culturally and in other aspects? Alternatively, would a Christian Japanese based in Kyushu have any plausible chance of happening if the conversion of Japan as a whole is too much to plausibly consider?

Last edited:
Yes. The Christian revolt has to receive much greater support from European powers.

Though Christianity in Japan will not be the same ad in Europe. It will be as distinct as Buddhism in Tibet is from Buddhism in Japan
I was thinking of an earlier POD but this is definitely interesting. How would they get the assistance needed tough?

And of course, to stick it would need to bebe massively different from its european counterpart, with quite probably some significant syncretism involved in due time.

Last edited:
Would it be possible for Japanese Christianity to both take political and eventually represent a majority of the population? How would such an ATL develop politically, culturally and in other aspects?
One could work around the Church of the East, as it adapted to Chinese culture, and have that be one of Japan's imports from Tang dynasty China. This 'Sinified' Christianity could then be adapted further to meet Japanese sensibilities to serve as a base for further expansion. (And more good news for the expansion of Syriac script, due to the use of Aramaic in this denomination of Christianity, alongside "orthodox" Chinese characters.)