WI Germans dont drive the british from the continent in WWII?

I'm not an expert of WWII but I have a question that might be interesting - or simply idiocy. I'm sorry for taking up your time in the latter case.

The germans are at their strongest on land so that's where they should be fighting the british at. If the british retreat to their Island the germans have no way to fight them - sealion is not feasable and the Battle of Britain is very hard to win. Fighting the british in North Africa is again problematic - supply lines and distances etc.

So the optimal situation for the Germans is to fight the brits on land and specifically on the continent. So might it be that they have won too big in 1940 OTL? What if they have decisively defeated the french but they don't drive the allies from the continent. Paris and a big chunk of France is occupied but they allow the allies to retreat to western and southern France. After that they fight a war of attrition against the british: the aim is to inflict losses especially in lives instead of driving them from the continent - or only when they are sure they can trap most of their forces on the continent. Evacuation from southern France would also be much harder to do than just across the Channel. German pilots shot down would also have a chance to be recovered here. Barbarossa is postponed till the british and french give up.

Could a strategy like this work?

No. War of attrition is in favor of the UK. Especially if France is not fully occupied. The UK outproduced Germany in planes, tanks and trucks.

TDM

Kicked
Not only is Post right about the French and British being able to out produce Germany, but this Germany has specific resource and logistics issues as well.
The German army (and German economy) in 1940 is really not designed for a war of attrition, the whole blitzkrieg thing is designed to avoid it (although at the cost of high resources and logistics demands).