WI: Emperor Maurice remains in power

Would Maurice be able to fully defeat the Lombards?

• Yes

Votes: 19 76.0%
  • No

Votes: 6 24.0%

• Total voters
I will give a POD. In 588, he does not cut military wages, meaning the mutineer problems which led to his fall never begin. Instead he cuts funds to other things and increases taxes to get the money he needs.

This would probably result in a much more stable Empire, as Maurice was able to keep all of Rome's enemies on the defensive, and he formed a friendship with the Sassanid Emperor. This could delay or entirely prevent the Sassanian Wars all together(I don't think they could be entirely prevented unless the Sassanids collapse entirely). When the Arabic invasions occur, both Persia and Rome would be much stronger, so they would fail entirely, assuming they happen at all(the butterflies may prevent Islam all together).

I'm no expert, so I can't say whether Maurice would be able to drive the Lombards out of Italy, but it should be possible. If he does manage to do this, then when he dies and reestablishes the Western Empire(there were no contemporary sources for his reestablishing the Tetrarchy, so I am assuming that wouldn't happen), his son Tiberius should be in a good position, with the only substantial threat being the Franks. If he doesn't, Italy would probably fall to the Lombards unless Theodosius aides his younger brother. In this period, the Berbers were on the decline, so Africa is likely secure for the time being.

This is just my(not well educated) opinion, so please discuss it and come up with your own ideas.

The problem with Lombards is that they aren't an excessively threatening force to Constantinople : they certainly were for Italy but at this point, the whole region was fairly peripheral to the empire. He was probably aware that undergoing another campaign in Italy would be both costly, and probably inconclusive in the short term, while Sassanians still represented a clear and immediate danger.