Many people know that the Confederate States tried to capture Washington D.C or threatened the capital during the battle of Fort Stevens but what if the Confederate States succeeded?

What if the Confederate States took over Washington D.C.? But, in this scenario, the Confederates still lost the Civil War but burned down all of Washington D.C in a retreat as a reverse Sherman march. What is the outcome of Northern-Southern relations?

What would Reconstruction be like, and how would Lincoln respond, presuming that the Confederates destroyed Ford's Theater as well? I am genuinely curious as it is my first time writing something like this.

I mean, I'm not entirely sure that burning down Ford's Theater would have much of an impact here - if the Confederates captured DC they are doing so early in the war, or toward's the middle. There's still more than enough time for Booth to try to assassinate Lincoln in another location; assuming he lives and is still radicalized (which he likely would be). I mean, it's not as if his attempts are intrinsically tied to Ford's Theater, after all.

Now, the rest of this queston is actually a bit more interesting. The loss of DC would be seen as a huge shock to the Union, and would definitely give the pro-Confederates in Maryland an opening; whether 'officially' suceeded or not, the state is probably going to end up largely in Confederate hands until they're driven out.

I would imagine that the Union government reorganizes in quick order, likely in Philly (a city that is far enough away from the front that it's not going to be threatened unless things go REALLY South, but also close enough to the front to be able to manage it). The entire debacle is going to be a huge black-eye to the Union and Lincoln, but likely not a fatal one; especially if it happens early on.