What if the chinese empire survived?

The Chinese Empire I'm talking about is the Yuan Shikai one

cn-1915.gif

I'm not a expert on chinese history, but what I found on wikipedia about the empire says that "the Hongxian Emperor was opposed by not only the revolutionaries, but far more importantly by his subordinate military commanders, who believed that Yuan's assumption of the monarchy would allow him to rule without depending on the support of the military."

And thus the army rebelled and made the national protection war

What if Yuan Shikai had assured to the army that they would have a role in the government, maybe even giving 25% of the parliament chairs to military personnel, what would be the short time and the long time effects of a surviving chinese empire?

Similar problems as OTL. There would still be some fragmentation of authority, lots of corruption to deal with, traditionalists obstructing progress, leaders more concerned with power politcs and their position than the overall national good. Certainly things would be better than the warlord years and the defacto civil war of the KMT takeover. The big change would come in the late 1930s. Would the empire appear strong enough to discourage Japanese attack? If the Japanese attacked would the Imperial forces be able to resist better than the KMT of 1937?

Similar problems as OTL. There would still be some fragmentation of authority, lots of corruption to deal with, traditionalists obstructing progress, leaders more concerned with power politcs and their position than the overall national good. Certainly things would be better than the warlord years and the defacto civil war of the KMT takeover. The big change would come in the late 1930s. Would the empire appear strong enough to discourage Japanese attack? If the Japanese attacked would the Imperial forces be able to resist better than the KMT of 1937?