The VT-BAM project

Discussion in 'Alternate History Maps and Graphics' started by VT45, Oct 1, 2017.

Loading...
  1. VT45 Cartographer Extraordinaire

    Joined:
    May 1, 2007
    Location:
    People's Republic of Massachusetts
    I mean depends on your computer. Mine might be able to load it. But that's a big might.
     
  2. JohnWarrenDailey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2015
    Will a Microsoft Apple survive this?
     
  3. VT45 Cartographer Extraordinaire

    Joined:
    May 1, 2007
    Location:
    People's Republic of Massachusetts
    I have no clue.
     
  4. Ranad Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2017
    Me neither. But since Microsoft Apple is very expensive it should work
     
  5. Klime Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2013
    You could probably load it in a program that's designed to work with large images(like Photoshop) but most programs will struggle to even load it, and if they do then they will most likely be extremely unstable after doing so. Paint.net for example can be really crash prone when dealing with images larger than 15k in any dimension, This map is 43200x21600 when merged.
     
  6. Frank Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2017
    Location:
    Italia
    Sorry for the last inactivity, but I wanted to inform you that I'm continuing my work on the map, I've almost finished Trentino and I'm completing Sardinia and Bavaria c: Is anyone redoing Switzerland with the right projection?
     
    Last edited: Jan 12, 2018
    SaveAtlacamani and Klime like this.
  7. Ranad Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2017
    yes
     
    Frank likes this.
  8. Alex Richards A mapper I, from near Dar-bai. Donor

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2009
    Location:
    Empire of Nova Elysium
    I've redrawn the south already, happy to accelerate redoing the rest if you want it quickly.
     
    Frank and Klime like this.
  9. JohnWarrenDailey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2015
    Is there any way to shrink it down to something like 4974×2519?
     
  10. Frank Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2017
    Location:
    Italia
    Great, just take your time doing the rest, don't worry, I don't need it for now :)
     
  11. Klime Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2013
    If you did that it would render most of the lines invisible(to test, go and get the MBAM and scale it to 10%), you really need to use cut down sections of the map rather than try to downscale it.
     
    merkmuds likes this.
  12. Alex Richards A mapper I, from near Dar-bai. Donor

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2009
    Location:
    Empire of Nova Elysium
    Karnataka and Goa.
    TN-VT.png
     
    Blind, kodak, Klime and 6 others like this.
  13. Tangle Kerbal Crasher

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2012
    Location:
    The Federalized Republic of Howard's Landing
    Are you proposing that we turn the VT-BAM into a Q-BAM?
     
    Narwhal and Redcoat like this.
  14. Dementor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2007
    Location:
    Sofia, Bulgaria
    You mean something like this?
     
    Klime likes this.
  15. JohnWarrenDailey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2015
    No. But if making something this big is going to make your computer crash, then we've got a problem.
     
  16. AcipenserSturio (also known as Atlantic Sturgeon)

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2016
    Location:
    Perm, Russia
    In my opinion, VT-BAM isn't even supposed to be a world map you use as a whole, but rather as a certain region which needs particular attention. Smaller maps, like QBAM and MBAM, work nicely for the former purpose.

    That said, I'd love to see QBAM or MBAM -sized equirectangular blank maps.
     
    XO Mapping, Tangle, merkmuds and 3 others like this.
  17. JohnWarrenDailey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2015

    Are you sure?
     
  18. VT45 Cartographer Extraordinaire

    Joined:
    May 1, 2007
    Location:
    People's Republic of Massachusetts
    Yes
     
    Tangle likes this.
  19. JohnWarrenDailey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2015
    I thought that is what you're going to do eventually.
     
  20. Klime Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2013
    It will cover the entire world, it's just not intended to cover the whole world at once. I imagine that the final product will be supplied as tiles which can be assembled and cut to cover whatever region you want to. I believe it's mostly intended to be used for country maps and very high detail continental maps, it can't practically be used for world maps at this time (future technology may allow this at some point).

    It would probably not be too difficult to make a half sized version which would be a bit more manageable for that purpose, however that would need to be a separate project. The water data could be reused for that, and the admin data could be generated from this map.
     
    Tangle, merkmuds, VT45 and 1 other person like this.
Loading...