The Atheist Series-The Heretic Republic of Bulgaria timeline

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hello, this is my first post here, so please, bear with me, If I mess few words up.

I'm new to the genre of alternate history, so I'm not very well familiar with the popular tropes or authors but what I'm very familiar with is science-both Natural and Humanities and would like to construct an alternate timeline where I can explore question that interest me. My primary focus is on the relationship between technological progress (strong interest in the history of science and the method of scientific investigation) and societal structures and norms (e.g. the relationship amongst economy, politics, the military and others). I want to know more about the intersection of the two, so I have decided to investigate an alternative history timeline where they can interfere and wonder how realistic it can be. My intention with this thread is to present you the backbone of the story of this alt-history timeline and ask you do you think it's plausible. If you see anything unplausible with it, please, give me your thoughts on the subject. My intention is to grow this efforts into a series of books which I may or may not eventually publish to explore 3 questions stemming from the interaction between the "fabric" of society (e.g. it's culture, laws, norms, institutions and especially religion) and the technology it is able to master. I want to create a work of fiction delving deeply into these relationships. Although fictional I seriously intend to derive conclusions applying to the real-world about these 2 subjects and make people think about this relationship. In an essence, they will be the main "protagonists" of my work. These questions are:

1.What is the relationship between the dominant religion in society and its level of technological development? E.g. can religion inhibit or accelerate the development of technology and to what extent?