The Ashes of the 26th the Post-Doomsday timeline

The Ashes of the 26th

This is my first timeline. So be gentle. Please comment.

Cold-War-Map.jpg

Map of the World Pre Purge

September 14th 1983 Col. Stanislaw Petrov is relived of duty by Col. Ivan Akrimanov at the Serpukhov-15 bunker near Moscow, which monitors for a US missile attack on the Soviet Union. He is reassigned to a bunker near Brest.

stanislav_petrov2.jpg

The Only known picture of Col.,and later General, and Duke Stanislav Petrov

The Serpukhov-15 bunker's computers indicate that a US missile is heading toward the Soviet Union. At first, Akrimanov reasons that a computer error has occurred, since it is only one missile and it doesn't make sense that the US would launch one single missile in an attack. Questions about the reliability of the satellite detection system have been raised in the past, so he dismisses the warning as a false alarm, concluding that there was no actual missile.
Very shortly though, the computers indicate that a second missile has been launched, then a third, a fourth and and then a fifth. Akrimanov, a faithful reader of "Pravda", where he had read much of the "warmongering of the American President Regan", now feels as that the attack was real. He telephones the headquarters of the Strategic Rocket Forces and tells them that his computers show that a massive US attack is underway.
Yuri Andropov is awakened by his staff and rushed to an evacuation helicopter standing by outside the Kremlin. He is evacuated along with key members of the Politburo and their families. On the way he is informed by the generals that they have "reliable intel" that the Americans are launching a first-strike at the Soviet Union. They recommend a full retaliatory strike. Andropov, frail and stunned by the news, nods and gives the launch codes to the SRF commanders.

b0042023_4920714c7949a.jpg

Yuri Andropov