Since I graduated last year, I have had this idea for a timeline based on a Crimean War which continued on for longer and ultimately leads to Russia losing its Great Power status.

My primary sources for my work, and now this timeline Winfried Baumgarts was mainly “The Crimean War 1853 - 1856” by Winfred Baumgart, “Alexander II” by Edward Radzinskij and“The origins of the Crimean war” av David M Goldfrank.

I don't claim to be a pro historian and I am fully open to admitting if I get stuff wrong, I'll always gladly learn more about history :)

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------​

The point of divergence will be that Czar Nicholas whom OTL died of a cold because he refused to seek medical help, instead he does and goes on to live a bit longer. Unlike his more moderate son, he refuses to believe that the war is being lost, even when his generals desperately plead towards him to stop. In OTL from what I have read, Nicholas seemed to have believed more in his version of reality than the one around him. For example he kept asking the british to aid in "putting down" the sick man of Europe and fully believed to have their support when he in reality didn't. In this timeline he retreats into himself, unable to see that the nation around him is collapsing.

As 1856 progresses, Prussia and Austria alongside Sweden, all three nations whom had been in negotiations with the British - French Alliance decides to join in on the war in exchange for territorial or other concessions. Sweden for example will receive Åland and the western coast/half of Finland with the largest contingents of swedish speakers and Helsinki. Prussia will take parts of Poland and establish a Polish puppet state and Austria mainly wants to create a buffer between Russia and itself.