Planetocopia Map Thread

Discussion in 'Alternate History Maps and Graphics' started by Lowtuff, Sep 29, 2015.

  1. eustress Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2016
    Location:
    N/A
    VODA.png
    Making pixel-style map... but still so hard. Wonder how everyone can make maps so easily.
    By the way, I finally made name of this planet; Voda, which means water in Russian and sounds like "Bada"(meaning sea in Korean).

    I think lake chad would become endohendric basin or drain into benue river in nigeria (depending on its precipitation), and Great lakes would disappear(at least become much shallower than OTL), but Hudson bay would still exist.(much smaller, similar with OTL hudson bay) New Great Lakes might appear in China, Africa, Mexico, etc, if there's any glacial period. Though there's much highlands like Tibet, Iran, Great Rift, Mexico, Altiplano that will develop glacier, tropical ring current can stabilize its climate.(I don't know much about deepsea current that will affect climate significantly)

    Cas_Iran.png
    refer here: https://ahstat.wordpress.com/2014/01/11/watering-earth/
     
    LouisTheGreyFox likes this.
  2. Lowtuff 涼しい風

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2011
    Location:
    Vladivostok-on-the-Thames
    @eustress

    What I did to speed things up was draw the coastlines on the map like you have, but I then used the magic wand tool in paint.net to grab the coastline (you could also use layers from similar programs if that works easier for you) and then pasted it elsewhere where I could fill in the land and ocean colours & add detail to the map as necessary. So far so good with that map, nice work!
     
  3. Tangle Kerbal Crasher

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2012
    Location:
    The Federalized Republic of Howard's Landing
    And so fast!! I imagine it's like a much easier version of giving birth- you grit your teeth and PUSH!!!!

    ...Sorry.

    No more progress on Lyr yet, if anyone doesn't have any big projects to do could they help?
     
  4. rvbomally Russian Hacker

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2008
    Good news everyone! GProjector now accepts a variety of inputs, including Winkel Tripel, which is what Wayan uses for Planetocopia. I gave it a shot, and this is what I go for Shiveria.

    As you can see, it could use some tweaking with the edges, but this saves this project a lot of work.

    [​IMG]
     
  5. Imperator Frank Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2008
    Location:
    California
    I really should redownload gprojector.
     
  6. Tangle Kerbal Crasher

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2012
    Location:
    The Federalized Republic of Howard's Landing
    Erm.

    This is a mess.

    AAAA.png
     
  7. Konrad13 Prince and Grand Duke

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2007
    Location:
    Union of Tyras and Sueb
    Anyone still working on Turnovia? That one really intrigues me to no end.
     
  8. Vuru Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2017
    I'd think Seapole needs a rework

    Chris did it waay too long ago, and severely overestimated the sea level rise
     
  9. dartingfog Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2015
  10. Tangle Kerbal Crasher

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2012
    Location:
    The Federalized Republic of Howard's Landing
  11. inhiding Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2009
    Chris Wayans updated on April 5. The Hawaiian Sea has finally been covered making Abyssia 90% complete. Says he's still working on Arctica.
     
  12. SaveAtlacamani Atlacamani Conservationist Donor

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2011
    Location:
    Atlacamani
    Yeah! Any other planets updated?
     
  13. inhiding Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2009
    No I don't think so. His updates page says there's been massive expansions to Kakalea and Io but that's exactly what the page said before the new update.

    Here's the link: http://www.worlddreambank.org/2/2NEW.HTM
     
  14. January First-of-May Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2009
    Just wanted to mention that my own calculations from several years ago (back when I still had Google Earth) say that the Turgay Channel (where appropriate) might not have actually existed - its lowest point is 122 meters!
    OTOH, Volga-Baltic is 113 meters - much lower. And IIRC there are places where even the 105 meter lines come fairly close to each other. As I recall, near Kirillov, a single hill ridge, maybe five miles across, will divide one basin from another - if that won't make a trading town nothing will! (Though on Dubia, the old Volga-Baltic canal will just be re-dug as the sea levels rise to when it's an actual sea canal - or perhaps, to an extent, maintained all the way. But Kirillov will still be nearby.)

    It's a perfectly reasonable mistake though; I've seen a giant basemap with something like 130 meter rise. At this scale, Turgay was a huge strip - hard to miss. Volga-Baltic was one pixel wide. That hill ridge I mentioned? Easily 40-50 meters higher.
     
    Tangle likes this.
  15. Lowtuff 涼しい風

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2011
    Location:
    Vladivostok-on-the-Thames
    playing around with the idea of a civ style map (inspired by this)

    upload_2017-4-14_22-55-11.png
     
  16. Lowtuff 涼しい風

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2011
    Location:
    Vladivostok-on-the-Thames
    upload_2017-4-15_19-19-5.png
    in retrospect, i might have overestimated how easy this would be

    if you have any suggestions of words of advice or questions or whatever don't hesitate to throw them out there!
     
    Tyche likes this.
  17. Lowtuff 涼しい風

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2011
    Location:
    Vladivostok-on-the-Thames
    upload_2017-4-15_21-23-14.png
    ok great so

    checklist

    land/ocean (✓ yeah pretty much)

    ice, atolls, shallow waters (yeah sure shouldn't be hard)

    hills and mountains (huh?)

    forest coverage, jungles, plains (i'm. uh. well i'll figure out how to do that as i go along>)

    rivers (a plaintive sigh, opens google maps in the next tab over)

    I don't think I need to do resources? insofar as those are randomly generated?
     
    Tyche likes this.
  18. Vuru Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2017
    That's what i'm saying

    Dude VASTLY overestimated the rise

    Of course, there's sea erosion digging one, but the real land between would be too wide with accurate sea level for that. On the other hand, the Eyre bay would be cut off at first, but the isthmus would be narrow, so the sea would erode it away eventually and flood the basin
     
  19. Lowtuff 涼しい風

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2011
    Location:
    Vladivostok-on-the-Thames
    upload_2017-4-16_0-55-23.png

    okay europe west-of-russia and india both are pretty much done

    temperate forest pretty clearly maps to grasslands + forest, jungle to jungle + grasslands. i'm having a harder time figuring out how to do subtropical areas, though

    eurasia and north america both have fairly good hills and mountains. i gave africa a go but i'm not that happy with the results. ideally i'd probably put the save file up and let other people try their hand at it. (if you're interested in playing with the map or making your own suggestions, just ask!)

    i've added natural wonders, based half and half off of a 'good fit' (see, great barrier reef in ross sea) and just placing them where they are otl (see, gibraltar)

    kinda went crazy on atolls. should be fairly clear that i'm not thinking that much about game balance aha. i dont really have the experience to guess at much there.

    if anyones hankering for source material. link here to the original page on jaredia by chris wayan. link here to the biome map i did a while back
     
    CtrlAltHistory, Swede, Rhad and 2 others like this.
  20. Lowtuff 涼しい風

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2011
    Location:
    Vladivostok-on-the-Thames
    upload_2017-4-16_16-58-47.png

    Alright! The map is finished. I'm kind of stuck though - I'd prefer to generate the resources in rather than place them manually, but I'm not sure how to actually do that. Advice would be appreciated!

    EDIT: oh

    upload_2017-4-16_17-5-34.png

    OK, looks like it's actually finished all around then. Great! I'll see if I can't put this on the steam workshop. That said, if you want to randomise the ancient ruin/resource locations you'll probably need to open up the map in worldbuilder. Downloading it only takes a few minutes, so that should be easy.

    Holy crap, I actually finished it.

    Nice!

    Well, yeah, feel free to post feedback!
     
    Last edited: Apr 16, 2017
    Swede, CourageousLife and Tyche like this.