More than America's Youngest Ambassador: The Story of Samantha Smith

More than America's Youngest Ambassador: The Story of Samantha Smith
Smith Letter_1.jpg

Hello! This is my first timeline, so feel free to provide constructive criticism, make suggestions, and to ask questions! I will always be happy to answer them. A few things, this timeline will be relatively small, 10-15 short chapters, of which a good chunk will be before the PoD. If you are interested in more information, feel free to PM me as well. The first chapter will be posted shortly. That's all, enjoy folks!

Chapter 1
Chapter 1

August 25th, 1985

Captain Roy W. Fraunhofer walked out of the Bar Harbor Airlines Operations Department onto the tarmac of Banger International Airport, followed by his First Officer, Roy C. Owen. As the two made their way towards their aircraft farther down the airstrip, Fraunhofer put on his glasses and looked up at the overcast sky. As the now off-duty flight crew had told him, the weather over the northeastern United States today was cloudy and shaping up to be progressively worse throughout the afternoon. Fraunhofer then turned his eyes to the twin-engine turboprop aircraft he would be flying today, the Beech 99. Bangor to Boston, then back. And then again with a stop in Augusta on the way there. Both pilots, having more than 100 hours on the plane, stepped up the small stairway and into the cockpit with the casual air of veterans. The two independently set about tasks to prep the aircraft for its upcoming flights.
Beech 99.jpg

15 minutes off schedule, Flight 1793, took off from Bangor International Airport at 3:30 PM and turned southward towards Boston and into continually deteriorating weather. The return journey from Boston would land at 6:30 PM, now running 25 minutes late.

“Bar Harbor 1755, do you copy? This is flight follower at the tower.” buzzed the radio.

“We copy you, Bar Harbor 1755.” Captain Fraunhofer said.