Let There Be Fire

Prologue: An Ember Is Born
  • Alright! Hello! The following is the hyper-evolved headcanon for a replica shuttle program I started work on 4-5-ish years ago in KSP that I realized about 3 months ago I could turn into an objectively banger alternate history with a strangely low amount of effort. That being said, I have 3 disclaimers first and you could probably infer most of them from that opening sentence:

1. I have no experience whatsoever in writing stories, so except for some outside help, this may not be the most well written, so please bear with me a little bit. I’m not asking for complete excusal if I completely mess it up, this should be at least somewhat readable, just know there will most likely be a visible lack of experience.

2. I am also very much so using this as an excuse to learn more about spaceflight in general because, for some infernal reason, I can not bring myself to read a 171 page paper on what you can do with a shuttle external tank under normal circumstances. But, if I have even one minor practical reason to do so, it will be done in a week. So resultantly, there may be a few things that aren’t exactly feasible. I aim to improve as I go and learn, but especially at the start some things might be a bit sketchy.

3. At the end of the day, this is more about a story. I hope to write a story of what could be done with the extreme versatility of a space shuttle-like vehicle. And my specialty is more mission planning than number crunching, so reason may get thrown out a window every now and then, hopefully rarely though.

(Additional disclaimer for this prologue exclusively, I am not good at all with space politics so if it looks like I’m cutting corners this chapter (?), it’s because I absolutely am, but I think it’s important to explain the start of this story from here and not just go, “suddenly rockets!” and call it a weekend)