King Louis Philippe Egalité

Discussion in 'Alternate History Discussion: Before 1900' started by Ricardolindo, Feb 7, 2019.

1. Ricardolindo Well-Known Member

Inspired by John Frederick Parker's thread in 2018 and the fact, that, I am currently studying the French Revolution for my high school test: What if Louis XVI and his close family had successfully fled and then the National Constituent Assembly declared, that, they had renounced their succession rights and made Louis Philippe II d' Orleans/Philippe Egalité, a notorius supporter of the Revolution, King of the French? How would he rule France?

John Fredrick Parker likes this.
  2. John Fredrick Parker Donor

KidCabralista likes this.
  3. Kaze Well-Known Member

He would have problems to rule as an absolute ruler...Philip would have to accept reality --- he would have to accept the idea of Constitutional monarchy like the British system or his head would be prepared for the national razor.

4. Ricardolindo Well-Known Member

Louis Philippe d'Orléans was known for his staunch support of the Revolution and for wanting an England-style constitutional monarchy. He even changed his name to Philippe Egalité.

Last edited: Feb 8, 2019
    John Fredrick Parker likes this.
  5. isabella Well-Known Member

Well well a slightly better planned and executed flight to Varrennes can very well work...
    But you need either to divide the royal family in three coaches or at least have them not being late (and maybe not dressed in so blatant contrast to their coach, at least for the supposed Baroness and the alleged daughters)...

Philippe Egalitè as Costitutional King would be likely in his element and considering this plus his bad relationship with his kins is pretty unlikely who someone will accuse him to sell France to is enemies...