If Britain loses the Falklands War, what happens to Thatcher?

So, I was doing a bit of reading on the 1983 election, and there seems to be a consensus that Thatcher only called the election early to deliver her the best chance of a crushing victory, in the wake of her soaring popularity after the Falklands War.

So the question seems obvious. What happens to Thatcher, and by extension Britain, in the wake of a Falklands defeat. Does the Alliance sweep the inevitable election in 1984? Does Michael foot suddenly develop good campaign skills and win one for Labor?

I'm a political novice at best, so I can't answer these questions, but I'm interested to hear other people's thoughts.

Saphroneth

Banned
If recent experience is any guide, "hung bastard parliament" is always an option when nobody has any particularly good positives going.

Karavoka Man:

With military stuff, I'm about where you are with politics, and probably even less informed. Still, my understanding is that Argentina was so outmatched in the Falklands War, it would have been almost impossible for the Brits to lose.

So, if Thatcher does somehow manage to eff that one up, she is rendered laughingstock, and the Conservative Party's claims to being the hardnosed guardians of national security are severely damaged for the foreseeable. Whether that's enough to make Labour's percieved pacifism into less of an electoral liability, I don't know.

Saphroneth

Banned
With military stuff, I'm about where you are with politics, and probably even less informed. Still, my understanding is that Argentina was so outmatched in the Falklands War, it would have been almost impossible for the Brits to lose.
Yeah, though "difficult" would work better. The Brits could screw up many times, the Argentines couldn't weather more than one or two, but a loss at the Falklands is not beyond the bounds of possibility - or, rather, a loss that year is, and then you could see the Brits giving up.