Cast Iron Armor and Mantlets (mantelets)

Shadowwolf

Banned
I was wondering.....

Would Cast Iron make good medieval armor?

I ask because I would imagine that it would be cheaper and quicker to make, but I am no expert on such things.

Also...

Would Iron mantlets (manetlets) be able to protect soldiers from mid-19th century guns?
Could an infantry line use a row of wheeled mantlets to protect them from enemy fire, while firing from gun-ports?

Thanks

Last edited:
This. Also, casting iron requires very high temperatures and the technology was not mastered in Europe until the late middle ages at even a fairly basic level. Chinese cast iron was in use earlier, but it shared the problems that early European stuff had: it's brittle and in order to get structural integrity, you need to cast it thick. Good for cookpots, useful for guns, lousy for anything that needs to be light and tough.

Shadowwolf

Banned
Thanks for the replies...

I was trying to think of ways that armor plate could be massed produced.

As to the mantelets, or mantlets as I have always seen it, I was wondering if they would work against muskets and such

Saphroneth

Banned
As to the mantelets, or mantlets as I have always seen it, I was wondering if they would work against muskets and such
To some extent, yes they would. Any kind of ablation reduces the impact effect.
To a usable extent? Ehhh... depends on the thickness. Certainly muskets could go straight through breastplates, hence why they were so valued given their inaccuracy, but a combination of iron over wood could potentially reduce the velocity of a musket ball enough that the soldier's own armour could protect them. At a very short range it would be ineffective, but you'd reduce the effective range of the enemy muskets somewhat and that's useful.