Can anyone critique this map?

0LEvBZQ.png

I am very new at this. This is a map of a Modern Roman Empire. The source is just a blank map of modern Europe I found online.

I am looking for corrections to territorial anomalies and other suggestions. Before you comment about it, I purposefully left Britain, the Benelux, part of Germany, Dacia/Hungary, Crimea and other historical Roman lands not Roman for the purposes of the idea.

I did this in MS paint. Borders and locations are probably never going to be 100% correct due to my own skills and the nature of paint.

Edit: I implemented some of your suggestions. I don't think a Rome of this size is too implausible for the idea I have, in terms of how it goes about. It takes place over a long period of time as well, middle ages to present day.

I also should of clarified that this is not a Rome survival timeline. It starts in the Middle Ages with the POD of Alexios II Komnenos not being deposed. This map is of TIL present day Europe.

I gave the Arabian kingdom a Family Name, but as I don't know anything about Arabic or Arab naming traditions I don't know if that name is plausible or culturally correct. The idea I had for Arabia was based upon the pre-WW1 plans for a united Arabia under the Hashemites. Here the Hashemites have been butterflied away

Latvia and Estonia are independent for reasons relating to the the timeline, World War related reasons. Finland, Estonia, Latvia, Much of Poland and other areas were a part of Russia but are now independent and protected.

I made Silesia bigger and changed the name of the Netherlands, as well as making Persia yellow.

Last edited: