AHC: Great Power Burma?

Okay, I'm not technically asking for Burma as a Great Power, though that would be kind of cool to see. What I want is actually something more along the lines of Burma managing to resist colonization by the British and industrializing - I imagine that this would rather naturally lead to Burma managing to attain a status similar to that of OTL Japan, which was considered a Great Power at least for a time.

Basically, what I'm asking for is a logical/realistic series of events that have Burma remain uncolonized/independent, industrialize without getting taken over and become at least a regional power.

I imagine that this would rather naturally lead to Burma managing to attain a status similar to that of OTL Japan
Eh... This assumption seems unfounded to me. Two statistics showing how Burma was critically lacking in terms of both preexisting urban networks and a labor force:
  • In 1800, Edo (capital of Japan) had over 1,000,000 inhabitants, with other cities (Kyoto and Osaka) in the range of 300,000~500,000. Amarapura (capital of Burma) had more than 100,000 inhabitants. No other city in Burma had a population of over 20,000.
  • In 1800, Tokugawa Japan had around 30 million people. Burma had a grand total of 2.5 million.
The only real advantage Burma has over Japan is its ridiculously high literacy rate for adult men. But literacy in itself doesn't do much for industrialization, especially since Burmese popular literacy was due to Buddhist monastic education rather than state-run programs.

The best evidence that Burma could not "Meiji" is the fact that your scenario did happen with a society very similar to that of Burma. This is, of course, Thailand, which remained independent but failed to become a regional power. And logically, an independent Burma would fare worse than Thailand. This is because of at least three reasons: