‘Power without Responsibility’ - A 1930s TL

This is my first attempt at a proper ATL, so go easy on me (any comments welcome though! :)).

The free trade vs. protectionism debate has emerged again and again in British politics, periodically dominating parliament and the nation, with Disraeli splitting the Conservative party over the issue in the 1840s and Joseph Chamberlain almost succeeding with his tariff scheme in the first decade of the twentieth century. Following the stock market crash in 1929, the idea of preferential trade within the Empire was again advanced – this time most fervently by the newspaper magnates behind the Daily Mail and other popular papers. Their attempt to form a new political party enjoyed early success and, if not for a speech denouncing their pretentions by Conservative leader Stanley Baldwin, they could have profoundly changed the course of British history.

Daily Mail article, 1930*
With unemployment leaping up week after week, and now in excess of 1,500,000; with works and mills closing down; with taxation rising and an inexpansive revenue, the nation is coming to realise that some swift, effective remedy must be applied without delay, if we are to avert disaster

TIME Magazine article, March 1930*
Flatly defying all three British political parties—Labour, Liberal and Conservative—the Lords Beaverbrook and Rothermere, spurred off on a new journalistic crusade last week, founded with blare and ballyhoo a fourth party: "The United Empire Party." Its opening manifesto went out to six million British homes, not as propaganda but in the news columns of the "Beavermere" press. It was topped by banner headlines, buttressed by editorials and addressed with shrewd psychology to "men and women."

Couched in the most personal terms and signed by Baron Beaverbrook, the manifesto began: