Jet powered biplanes ?

Is there any plausibility of the development of jet biplanes, obviously nothing like this happened in OTL so i wondered why.

Probably a very simple and good reason that im too ignorant to get:eek: Aware this is probably ASB but anyway ...

Is there any plausibility of the development of jet biplanes, obviously nothing like this happened in OTL so i wondered why.

Probably a very simple and good reason that im too ignorant to get:eek: Aware this is probably ASB but anyway ...

IMO I think the second wing would create unnecessary drag that would just hurt the performance of the aircraft. I could be wrong though I'm no expert on aircraft flights characteristics.

To a small degree is did happen in OTL. Consider the Coanda-1910.

However from a military point of view i suppose it would be impossible to make a biplane do anything a monolane couldnt do better.

However from a military point of view i suppose it would be impossible to make a biplane do anything a monolane couldnt do better.

It might have better low-speed maneuverability, useful in carrier landings for example (have a quick google for the Fairey Cuttlefish). I think most users would find the loss in top speed caused by the second wing too much of a disadvantage, however.

It might have better low-speed maneuverability, useful in carrier landings for example (have a quick google for the Fairey Cuttlefish). I think most users would find the loss in top speed caused by the second wing too much of a disadvantage, however.

One could theoretically make the lower wing retractable, able to be pulled back into the hull.

Can't see a reason to, though.

Last edited:

Cook

Banned
development of jet biplanes, obviously nothing like this happened in OTL...
During World War Two the Soviet Union experimented with the Polikarpov I-153 augmented with ramjet engines. It also had retractable undercarriage.

fafbi.jpg

Delta Force

Banned