AHC: Ruling Japanese Emperor

abc123

Banned
Can anything be done to keep the Emperors of Japan becoming just ceremonial figure heads?

I'm not a expert on japanese history, but, save for Meiji-period, the Emperor of Japan allways or allmost allways was a ceremonial fihurehead.
That's the reason why dynasty suceeded to me on Crisantheme Throne for 2700 years without interruption. because they allmost allways were not important enough to be moved.

I'm not a expert on japanese history, but, save for Meiji-period, the Emperor of Japan allways or allmost allways was a ceremonial fihurehead.
I think the last time any tried to rule before that was the 11th or 12 Century.

So how can we keep them from becoming figureheads in the first place?

It probable will mean no 2,700 year unbroken line, unless they get really lucky or have different laws about who can assume the throne so heirs can be chosen instead of automatically being the first male.

I think the last time any tried to rule before that was the 11th or 12 Century.

So how can we keep them from becoming figureheads in the first place?

It probable will mean no 2,700 year unbroken line, unless they get really lucky or have different laws about who can assume the throne so heirs can be chosen instead of automatically being the first male.

AFAIK, they weren't. Salic Law was introduced by Meiji.

Really, how was it done before?

When there was talk about possibly having an Empress recently it sounded like first male was the way it had always been done.

There has, in fact, been one successful restoration. Taika one.

Recapitulating the history: 5th century Japan had emperors who held real power and fought inside their family for it. A bunch of imperial princes were executed for treason.