A Sound of Thunder: The Rise of the Soviet Superbooster

I was an undergraduate in the early 1980s and one of my more memorable classes, "Contemporary Soviet Union", was taught by a retired DIA analyst. During the time of the Dying General Secretaries, he brought special attention to the growing competition between the "young Turks" of Mikhail Gorbachev and Grigory Romanov. Obviously, Gorbachev won that contest in OTL, but has anyone tried to build an ATL with Romanov as the victor?

And it makes sense, if Gorbachev had started explaining his real goals he would never have gotten near the top job.