Boldly Going: A History of an American Space Station

In a happy confluence of events I re-watched Infinity War just when this thread started. Ever since I've been unable to dissociate this song from Enterprise's future launch.

I'm okay with this.

I am not a rocket scientist, so please tear what I am about to write apart. having read this TL with interest I have some questions and observations,
Looking at the various NASA projects up thread got me thinking.
There were proposals for payload to be carried in front of the tank, primarily light and large and another proposal for heavier payloads below the tank.
Now to make the fuel tank into a workable space station it appears to me that launching the tank with air locks, docking stations and habitats built at both ends of the tank and integral to it. Surely this would make the conversion f the empty tank to a usable habitat easier, The Enterprise shuttle would still be converted and integrated in to the space station, The main question is can this be done within the maximum lift to orbit capability of the stack.
Does this suggestion have any merit at all?

I am not a rocket scientist, so please tear what I am about to write apart. having read this TL with interest I have some questions and observations,
There were proposals for payload to be carried in front of the tank, primarily light and large and another proposal for heavier payloads below the tank.
Now to make the fuel tank into a workable space station it appears to me that launching the tank with air locks, docking stations and habitats built at both ends of the tank and integral to it. Surely this would make the conversion f the empty tank to a usable habitat easier, The Enterprise shuttle would still be converted and integrated in to the space station, The main question is can this be done within the maximum lift to orbit capability of the stack.

I’m sure the authors will chime in - my two pence: