Affiliated States of Boreoamerica thread

You're right, just about the only consistent thing so far is a POD of 1600, and personally I'm not very willing to change that. The rest of the world could quickly turn into a free-for-all. But 1600 is still well before any colonization. Is there any way to effect a change that would protect parts of aboriginal culture given ~150 years to play with?
To preface, I am by no means an expert on Aboriginal history, or really Australian history in general. That said, the only way I can see a stronger Aboriginal culture emerging independently is through agriculture, which poses two issues with a POD of 1600. First off, it takes a long time for crop domestication to take place when starting from scratch, much longer than the period between 1600 and the beginning of European contact. The second, and much more important in my opinion, issue is that of what crops are available to the Aboriginals. Now, there are actually crops that have emerged from Australia, however these were all developed following European contact by societies who already had an agricultural background. You need founder crops with the appropriate characteristics to kick start agriculture, which are much rarer than regular domesticable plants and nonexistent in Australia, hence why the Aboriginals remained in a hunter-gatherer (or at most hunter-gardener) state all the way until European contact.