Let Me Tell You about My Be-eeeesssst Friend! A Byzantine-Sasanian Re-approachment - 602 AD

Hello, all.

I've been posting for over a decade now with probably a dozen major TL's. Most of these tend to start in the 17th and 18th centuries as those are both my periods of interest and "expertise". I have a business degree, not history so this is just a hobby of mine.

Thus far, the earliest TL I ever made was one which started in Tudor England.

For this TL, I've decided to branch out and try a new era of interest. Here are some necessary historical facts leading up to this timeline for those unfamiliar with the era.

1. In the early 7th century, Christianity was starting to fragment. Already the Nestorians had broken off after the Council of Ephesus as had what would become the Syriac Church after the Council of Chalcedon. These had been deemed heretical by the Pope and Byzantine Emperor. Thus, naturally, they were quietly supported by the major rival to the Byzantine Empire at the time, the Sasanian (Persian) Empire.

2. The Byzantine Empire (and the Roman Empire which preceded it) had lost most of the western reaches of the old Roman Empire including half of Italy itself. Constant conflict with the Lombards of Italy (with their Germanic alliese) as well as the Azars and Slavs of the Balkans left the Empire almost constantly broke due to the costs of war and tribute to the barbarian tribes in hopes of keeping the peace.

3. The Byzantine was also rivalled in the Near East by the Zoroastrian Sasanian Empire of centered in Persia.

4. The Zoroastrian Church was largely a Persian-centric religion and had, in the opinion of many contemporaries and later historians to have become decadent and corrupt.