England Expects that Every Man....

I am happy to see so many people like the story. I hope the future does not disappoint.
(I am amazed at the number of likes that pile up on some of the sections.)

Excellent writing, love the characterisation and the sense of confusion of the battle itself.

Lovely prose. Watched.

And a special thank you for the compliments on the writing, although I am not sure I am the one responsible. The characters seem to take on lives of their own, and then I seem to see it through their eyes, or the eyes of those watching them, and they take the story onward.

I write analytical stuff for a living (and have even been told that I make it quite readable) but fiction is a new sort of venture for me. I know I need to pause and bone up on proper ways to do some things, but it is fun when I can find the time. / VP

So, will Moore instruct Halsey to bring as much attention to these findings as possible while he himself prepares to fall on the sword of 'disobeying orders'?

I suspect Beaty will be privately pissed and will ensure Moore won't rise any higher in the navy. However publicly Beaty might very well say that Moore followed his instructions/intentions, as no great calamity occurred and it wouldn't do Beaty's public heroic persona any good if he didn't support Moore as it would imply that he didn't want his ships to engage the enemy in a fight where the odds where at the least even.

Personally I think Beaty for all his faults would have done the same if his position was reversed with Moore in this time line. He wasn't a very nice person but he wasn't really stupid nor a coward.

Just caught up.and will add my voice in support. Good beginning and I'm looking forward to more.

Moore being retired really does depend on whether or not the Seydlitz(she's the most likely candidate for such an occurrence)was sunk if it was he is the Hero of the nation and Churchill and Fisher will back him as will Jellico if not yes retirement does seem likely