King Louis Philippe Egalité

Inspired by John Frederick Parker's thread in 2018 and the fact, that, I am currently studying the French Revolution for my high school test: What if Louis XVI and his close family had successfully fled and then the National Constituent Assembly declared, that, they had renounced their succession rights and made Louis Philippe II d' Orleans/Philippe Egalité, a notorius supporter of the Revolution, King of the French? How would he rule France?

I've long liked the idea of this as a PoD, where the Constituent Assembly responds by declaring that the king (and his son and brother) has abdicated his throne, and following the line of succession then offer the crown to the Duke of Orleans, a sympathizer of the revolution.

I'm more interested in what the Royalists would do, not the Revolutionaries. With the King at liberty in Montmédy I think we'd see earlier Royalist revolts in the Vendée, Brittany, Normandy and in the South. We're also likely to see the various Armée des Émigrés move into France, likely into Lorraine or Champagne. Not sure what the other Great powers would do exactly: Declaration of Pillnitz didn't happen until August 1791 and it was Louis XVI's execution that scared Europe's Sovereigns into action, so any coalition is likely to be smaller than OTL. In my opinion the question becomes whether which army is stronger: the Émigrés or the Revolutionaries? Also, will Louis XVI compromise at all, like he hinted at in the Letter left in the Tuileries, or would we see a return to May 1789?

A few thoughts.

1) The Constituent Assembly is likely to be far bolder than James II's parliament to reorder things as they like. They've worked a good head of steam on that front, after all, and they're going to be making Louis the King of the French in a few months OTL.