Legacy: A No Watergate Scandal Timeline

Part 1: 1972-1974
This is my first timeline that I'm writing on this website, so please go a bit easy on me :coldsweat:. That being said, this timeline will likely be pretty controversial. Nevertheless, please keep in mind it is just fiction and I would ask that people not take what I am writing as what 100% certainly would have occurred had the Watergate Scandal been averted. Without further ado, here is the timeline. Enjoy!
Part 1

Saturday, June 17th, 1972, 1:30 AM
Security guard Frank Wills was having an easy night patrolling the Watergate Hotel. So safe was this hotel that he didn't even have to carry a gun, only a can of mace. While patrolling, he noticed duct tape on a door in the building. Assuming it was nothing, Wills took the tape off.

1:40 AM (Point of Divergence)
Noticing that the tape had been removed, the burglar did not even think about replacing the tape which was once on the door. "Someone had to have removed it," he thought. Knowing that replacing the tape would only increase the suspicion of whatever guard was in the building, the burglar wisely decides to not replace the tape, knowing that this could get the whole Nixon administration in trouble.

1:50 AM
Frank Wills patrols the same area, no tape is there. Wills continues his patrolling.

3:00 AM
The Watergate burglars successfully escape the hotel, having successfully repaired the wiretapping in the phones.

November 7th, 1972
Richard Nixon comfortably watches the election coverage, grinning, knowing that he has annihilated his opponent, George McGovern, in arguably the worst landslide in all of American history. Nixon smiles. He has potentially made history. He has secured another four years as president.

January 20th, 1973
Nixon is sworn in again, and gives his inaugural address.

January 27th, 1973