Obviously, lets dismiss scholarship out of hand.

As for lived experience. @dvyws Age for beauty and all that obviously, I'm happy to bow to you but next time I run into R.Adm Morisetti at the RAC or the In & Out Club would you agree he is an ok source to support/confirm either side (commanding officer HMS Invincible)? He's the only guy I know who ran a big ship. The other top bods I know are all submariners.

This is a conversation I've had before and it ended in stalemate so I would like confirmation one way or another. Because I've seen a number of differing evidence and opinions from primary and secondary sources.
But it isn't scholarship if it's wrong, is it?

And I'm not going to go into the whole "I know x..." thing. I was a junior officer when I left the Mob, and lost contact with most of my compatriots, although I occasionally came across them subsequently. Some of them did quite well for themselves. But please don't tell me I didn't know how to address members of the ships company I was serving with - especially when trying to be condescending.

But it isn't scholarship if it's wrong, is it?

And I'm not going to go into the whole "I know x..." thing. I was a junior officer when I left the Mob, and lost contact with most of my compatriots, although I occasionally came across them subsequently. Some of them did quite well for themselves. But please don't tell me I didn't know how to address members of the ships company I was serving with - especially when trying to be condescending.

Pot meet kettle. You did rather throw the guantlet of condescension down with your appeal to anecdote (and emotion) in dismissing a couple of well researched and well regarded Royal Navy facing historical texts... so I appealed to mine. Note I was only asserting that bigger ships called the 2ic 'the commander' not first officer/1st Lt.