Marche Consulaire: A Napoleonic Timeline

Chapter One
Welcome, all. So, after five years and a ton of ideas taken up and discarded in my head, I've finally decided to get off my ass and put something down on paper for the first time. And so, I came up with a Napoleon timeline. That was a long time ago, actually, back before we started getting quite a few of them running around, but I intend to go different places than those, and I hope to stick with this longer than most, so there's that, too.

This one will start in 1805 and end about 1950 or so, and I've at least got some ideas for where to go that whole stretch, although they'll be subject to change as seems reasonable given the butterflies and all. Since it's my first timeline, it'll probably have a rocky start, but I'll appreciate any feedback you guys have to make it seem realistic. Within reason, since I'll probably default to broader strokes in the end. With all that said, let's begin.

Chapter One: A New Europe

Excerpted from The Founding of Modern Europe by Ronald Hansen, 1978.​

Much of the scholarship surrounding the French Revolution and the wars that followed tends to focus on the years 1805 and 1806. There are several reasons for this: for connoisseurs of tactics, the campaigns against Austria, Russia, and Prussia showcased the Grande Armée and its commander at their zenith in terms of skill and maneuver. That is why Ulm and Austerlitz and Erfurt remain popular case studies at war colleges to this day. For French nationalists, there has never been so great a display of their nation’s military might than in these two years, when their Emperor confronted the other Great Powers of the Continent and triumphed. And for allohistorical enthusiasts, the missteps of the Third Coalition are more glaring than those of any other set of Napoleon’s rivals. Because of this, they see abundant opportunities for better decision-making, resulting in any number of alternative worlds.