How Terrifying is it to fend off elite heavy cavalry (such as Knights,Samurai,dragoons) with Spears?

Griffith

Banned
As I stated in my other thread, I started playing Shogun:Total War for the first time in years and one in-game description always intrigued me.

Shogun: Total War said:
The Takeda are masters of the traditional arts of war and are ruthless in their quest to overcome their enemies by any means necessary. Facing a charge from the Takeda Cavalry will test the will of even the bravest warrior.

This really got me wondering. Usually Medieval Movies like Bravehart and RTS games like Age of Empires always show infantry with spears have a huge advantage over heavily armored cavalry elites like Knights and Samurais. As shown in Bravehart, all you have to do is wait for the Knights to charge than you pull your spears and hit the horses. In games like Rise of Nations and Age of Empires, its even more brutally easily to slaughter heavy cavalry-all you have to do is basically have the spearman attack the knights and they should be able to slaughter them with ease.

In fact this easy countering of Knights and elite heavy cavalry by spear infantry as portrayed in movies and games has become so imprinted into popular culture, that many people who don't study Medieval History into detail think that you just have to wait for the Knights to charge your spears and boom they'll get slaughtered as they hit the spears. Basically in their view you just need to hold the spear steadily and you'll be able to slaughter elite knights just like that,

However the quote from Shogun:Total War about the fending off the charge of the Takeda Cavalry(which are the best heavy mounted Samurais in the game) being the ultimate test of courage (even assuming you have spear men), made me wonder-is Heavy Cavalry as easy to destroy with spears as Bravehart and PC games portray?