1844: What if President Clay avoids the Mexican-American War?

This is my first time starting a thread and proposing a timeline, so bear with me...

The US Presidential election of 1844 was basically a referendum on US territorial expansion. The Democratic candidate, Polk, called for the annexation of Texas as well as US claims to all of Oregon country (at the time, jointly occupied by US and Britain). Clay, the Whig candidate, stressed economic issues in his campaign, and was generally against territorial expansion, particularly if it came at a cost of going to war; he admitted that he would approve of the annexation of Texas only if war could be avoided.

Henry Clay lost that election by 65 electoral votes. However, he was only 5000 votes away from winning New York's 36 electoral votes, and therefore the Presidency. James Birney ran as the anti-slavery Liberty Party candidate and got over 15000 votes in New York; it is thought that most of his votes would have gone to Clay if Birney had not been in the race.

James Birney became disabled after a fall from his horse in 1845. Suppose this fall occured in the late summer/early autumn of 1844 instead, preventing him from campaigning, and thus delivering New York's electoral votes to Henry Clay.

Now, we have an anti-expansionist (or at least an anti-Manifest Destiny) president in the White House, during a presidential term that, OTL, arguably had the greatest impact on the territorial expansion of the United States.

Any thoughts?

I've seen an interesting article along these lines in an academic journal. Basically the author figures that there would be three republics in an America with Henry Clay; the US, the Republic of Texas and the Republic of California. No annexation.