Plausability: Christian Exodus from the Roman Empire

Just a question I have had for a while. If conditions in Rome were so unfavorable to the Christians during the period after Christ's death, why didn't they just leave? What would have prevented an exodus? If they had left where would they have gone? How would that have effected the development of the world?

Last edited:
Just a question I have had for a while. If conditions in Rome were so unfavorable to the Christians during the period after Christ's death, why didn't they just leave? What would have prevented an exodus? If they had left where would they have gone? How would that have effected the development of the world?

They could have gone to Persia, maybe (I'm not an expert here, so don't quote me on this). Persia was a Roman enemy, too, so we might see a _____!Rome vs a Christian!Persia. Meanwhile, Christian!Persia sends its missionaries both west and east, and they're at the center of the Silk Road...

Christian!China, Christian!India, Christian!Asia!

First, conditions were not bad. The first percecutions didn't happen for 30 years and even then they were confined to the city of Rome.

For most of the time for the first few centuries Christians lived next to their neighbors and were not seen as anything dangerous. Rather like a middle American might see a Wiccan i.e. eccentric but not dangerous.

Sure an occasional governor went after them. But only twice (off the top of my head) were there empire wide percecutions. Basically claims of Christian percecution is overstated.

Religous violence really didn't become widespread until the Christians took over. Their sustained percecution of Pagans was one of the major reasons Christianity won the 3rd 4th century war of ideas.

First, conditions were not bad. The first percecutions didn't happen for 30 years and even then they were confined to the city of Rome.